Hello again!

It’s been just over 6 months since my last post as my reading slump has been pretty dire. I have all intentions to get right back into reading and blogging and I even borrowed some books from the library yesterday – small steps! At least I no longer feel guilty about my much loved but greatly neglected blog 🙂

I think this year’s Petrona Shortlist may keep me busy over the Easter break yet if my reading slump does continue then Jussi Adler-Olsen’s latest Dept Q novel coming in September 2017 should help pull me out – I would have been waiting desperately for two years for the next instalment by then!

I have read a few books here and there and highly recommend three Australian novels:

Our Tiny Useless Hearts by Toni Jordan – a fast paced, comical ‘Melbourne’ story
Goodwood by Holly Throsby – small town intrigue/noir set in the 90s which now qualifies as historical fiction it seems!
Skylarking by Kate Mildenhall – lovely, succinct historical fiction based on fact in a remote lighthouse community. Not to be confused with The Light Between Oceans.

Also – Marina Lewycka’s The Lubetkin Legacy. I forgot how much I love Lewycka’s novels. Charming and funny.

On tv I have been addicted to Midnight Sun (one of the best crime thrillers I’ve seen for a long time) and I am quickly coming to the end of my Banshee box set. Will there really be no season 5?

I’m also loving Big Little Lies even though the book didn’t grip me early enough when I started it last year so I gave up. Reece Witherspoon is fantastic, just as she was in Wild.

Hopefully it won’t be another 6 months!

 

7 thoughts on “Hello again!

  1. You’ve had a lot of stuff in your six months off! I have just finished watching Big Little Lies – enjoyed it (couldn’t bear the book) and agree that Reese made it. Oddly, I have the DVD of Wild sitting in my stack, waiting to be watched. I read the book a few months ago, raced out for the DVD and have held off watching it – I didn’t want to sit there comparing the two too closely.
    As for Banshee – how good is it? Unquestionably the most violent thing I’ve ever seen and certainly not the sort of thing I go for but soooooo gripping (I picked it up because I knew it was written by Jonathan Tropper – it’s very different to his novels!).

    • Hi! Nice to hear from you!

      I actually started Banshee after you raved about it last year! I’m just about to begin season 4, having watched seasons 1-3 in a fortnight or so. Highly addictive and full of un/necessary sex and violence.

      I haven’t read Wild but listened to the author on Conversations with Richard Fidler. I didn’t think I’d get much out of the film after such a detailed interview but am really glad I stumbled across it when channel surfing one night.

Leave a Reply

