How Much Can One Morck Take: Buried

Buried: Book 5Buried by Jussi Adler-Olsen

Over three years ago, a civil servant vanished after returning from a work trip to Africa. Missing, presumed dead, the man’s family still want answers. It is one of the many unsolved crimes left for Department Q, Denmark’s cold case unit headed up by Detective Carl Morck. But what Carl doesn’t know is that the key to the investigation is in Copenhagen. Fifteen-year-old Marco Jameson is tough, smart and suspicious of police. Sleeping rough and hiding in the shadows is his way of life. But what is he running from – and what does he know worth killing him for?

First Impressions: A good story but why exactly did we have to wait so long for Carl and the gang to make an appearance??!!

Highlights: So much bad coffee and too many camel jokes. How much can one Morck take? As you can guess I love the humour of this series. Every time Gordon blundered his way through a police investigation I had a chuckle to myself. On the other side of things, I thought Carl’s eventual meltdown was very well written and my heart went out to him. Finally, I didn’t know if I’d enjoy the chapters from Marco’s perspective – a teenage beggar/pick-pocket gang member – but I did. They were often full of action.

If I was an editor: C’mon Carl, solve a crime in Jutland sometime soon!

Overall: This Department Q series has taken hold of me. I can’t even comprehend starting another novel until I finish this series.

Buried: 5 Stars

Leave a Reply

