Aus Women Writers Wrap Up: 2015

I am delighted so say that I read 15 AWW books this year which made up over a quarter of the books I read.

All the books can be seen above but if you want a list then please click here.

I had a great time reading all the books this year so it is hard to pick a favourite one or favourite author. However, two things have surprised me:

Short Story Collections

Much to my surprise I have read three short story collections this year. It’s not a genre I dabble in too much but all three collections are so fantastic they have changed my opinion about the genre: it can be addictive reading!

Heat and Light by Ellen van Neerven

Foreign Soil by Maxine Beneba Clarke

Close to Home by Robin Barker (also the most popular review on my blog this year by far!)

I also have a copy of Ceridwen Dovey’s Only the Animals which I hope to get to soon.

Classic Review

I read and reviewed Helen Garner’s Monkey Grip quite late in December and have been amazed at the number of views. I suspect everyone loves a (contemporary) classic!

I still have a substantial pile of AWW books from my 6 week sojourn in Australia so I am really looking forward to 2016!

6 thoughts on “Aus Women Writers Wrap Up: 2015

  1. I’m guessing you read along with the Stella Prize shortlist?? I did as well and really enjoyed it – pushed me out of my reading comfort zone a little with Heat and Light (and to a lesser extent Foreign Soil, which I really enjoyed).

    • I didn’t read along with the Stella shortlist as I was really busy with guests for the first few months of the year. However, I did want to read most of them so bought the ones not available in the UK when I was in Melbourne.
      I haven’t read Biff Ward or Sofie Laguna – I might pop over to your blog and see if you have / what you thought.
      I hope to read the shortlist this year when it’s announced…

      • I’ll certainly be reading the short list again (and singing from my blog-treetops when I do, so you’ll know when it’s happening!).

Leave a Reply

