Classics Club Quiz

Elizabeth Gaskell, Jane Austen, Zora Neale Hurson, George Eliot, Rose Wilder Lane, Louisa May Alcott, & Virginia Woolf.

  1. Introduce yourself. Tell us what you are most looking forward to in this event.

I’m Kelly and I’ve been blogging at Orange Pekoe for almost three years. I am Australian but have been living in London for eight years. I have always loved Australian fiction, particularly the female authors, but have enjoyed it even more since being abroad. I can’t decide if this is because it makes me nostalgic or because the unique characteristics of Australian fiction are easier to spot now that I have some distance.
I am most looking forward to reading some classics by Australian women that I keep meaning to read. I participate in the Australian Women Writers Challenge each year so this should overlap nicely.

  1. Pick a classic female writer you can’t wait to read for the event, & list her date of birth, her place of birth, and the title of one of her most famous works.

I can’t wait to read more Thea Astley, born 1925 in Brisbane, Australia. I first read It’s Raining in Mango (1987) at University.

  1. Favourite classic heroine?

Miss Emma Woodhouse but I hope to replace her with an Australian example by the end of this challenge!

  1. We’d love to help clubbers find great titles by classic female authors. Can you recommend any sources for building a list?

I have put together a list for this challenge that I can use as a cheat sheet. I have read some authors before and have only included books I haven’t read rather than what may be their more famous works. It is up in the air how many I will read but I am aiming for 10 (gulp!). As I want to include some contemporary classics I have defined a classic as being at least 20 years old. I know some will disagree vehemently with this decision! However, I can say that all but three are over 30 years old, and the majority are over 50 years old. So, in no particular order:

Thea Astley – A Descent for Gossips (1960)

Ruth Park – The Harp in the South (1948)

Madeleine St John – The Women in Black (1993)

Helen Garner – Monkey Grip (1977)

Dorothy Porter – Monkey’s Mask (1994)

Jessica Anderson – Tirra Lirra by the River (1978)

Patricia Carlon – The Whispering Wall (1969)

Olga Masters – Amy’s Children (1987)

Nene Gare – Fringe Dwellers (1961)

Barbara Baynton – Bush Studies (1907)

Joan Lyndsay – Picnic at Hanging Rock (1967)

Elizabeth Harrower – The Katherine Wheel (1960)

Jeannie Gunn – We of the Never Never (1908)

Miles Franklin – My Brilliant Career (1901)

Henry Handel Richardson – The Getting of Wisdom (1910)

Elizabeth Jolley – Miss Peabody’s Inheritance (1983)

Robin Dalton – Aunts up the Cross (1965)

Amy Whitting – I for Isobel (1990)

Dymphna Cusack – Come in Spinner (1951)

Eleanor Dark – Timeless Land (1941)

  1. Will you be joining us for this event immediately, or will you wait until the new year starts?

I had hoped to start ASAP in November but just haven’t got around to it yet…

  1. Do you plan to read as inspiration pulls, or will you make out a preset list?

See above list! I already own a few books on the list and there will also be a strong element of where inspiration pulls. I may end up reading multiple books by some authors and am always open to more suggestions. In no way am I limited by this list!

  1. Are you pulling to any particular genres? (Letters, journals, biographies, short stories, novels, poems, essays, etc?)

Mostly all fiction but I do hope to read the recently published biography of Thea Astley, Inventing Her Own Weather by Karen Lamb

  1. Do you hope to host an event or readalong for the group? No worries if you don’t have details. We’re just curious!

Umm, sure… If there’s interest…

2 thoughts on “Classics Club Quiz

  1. Ohhhhh Women in Black! Ohhh the Getting of Wisdom! Ohhhh Picnic at Hanging Rock! Ohhhhhhh Monkey’s Mask!! Ohhhhh Harp in the South! You have some great reads ahead of you.
    I would also love to read more Astley – the bio about her sounds great too.
    I’m fascinated by HHR after reading The Fortunes of Richard Mahony. Jessica Anderson also intrigues me.

    • Glad you approve of my choices and aren’t outraged at my 20 year classic rule 🙂
      I actually own most of the ones you hyperventilated over so they seem to be a good place to start. I bought them earlier this year on a trip back to Aus. I have read a few before (Hanging Rock, Harp in the South, Tirra Lirra) but it was many years ago and I don’t really remember them. I suspect I’ll get more out of them now I’m older.
      (I chickened out a bit with HHR and picked a shorter novel at the last minute to put on the list…)
      If you want a reading buddy for a novel one month next year let me know.

Leave a Reply

