Catching up on my J-Lit

 

After finishing Book 6 in Jussi Adler-Olsen’s Department Q series I’ve been at a loss as to what to read next. The series has consumed me for the past couple of months.

I need some short reads that leap off the page so I’ve decided to work my way through a pile of Japanese novels that have been sitting on my shelf for a while.
(Ozeki isn’t really short…)

I’m far from disappointed with this decision. I’m having an enjoyable time reading these stories as I love the unexpected and surprising things that Japanese authors throw at their (Western) readers. Much to my amusement I’ve been exclaiming out loud when reading.

I anticipate a big contribution this month to my Japanese Literature Challenge!

4 thoughts on “Catching up on my J-Lit

  1. I love Ozeki’s “Tale”… though it partly takes place in Japan, it doesn’t really seem to me to be a Japanese novel, though. I hope to read your review and see what you think.

    • I agree with you about this not feeling like a Japanese novel (although the cover looks it). I read the first 50-100 pages of this when it was first published but then it languished on my bedside table until I moved house. I didn’t dislike it in any way, another novel must have caught my eye. I’m trying really hard to sort and clear up my bookshelves (and kindle, but that’s another story) and thought the JLit challenge would be a great excuse to read it. I’m curious how I’ll feel about it when I finish it too!

Leave a Reply

