Morck Indulgence: Redemption

RedemptionRedemption by Jussi Adler-Olsen

Two boys, brothers, wake tied and bound in a boathouse by the sea. Their kidnapper has gone, but soon he will return. Their bonds are inescapable. But there is a bottle and tar to seal it. Paper and a splinter for writing; blood for ink. A message begging for help… In Copenhagen’s cold cases division Carl Morck has received a bottle. It holds an old and decayed message, written in blood. It is a cry for help from two boys. Is it real? Who are they and why weren’t they reported missing? Can they possibly still be alive?

First Impressions: Exactly as I would have wanted it to start – intrigue… and Carl Morck!

Highlights: This novel was a bit longer than the previous ones in the series which meant the reader gets to indulge in Carl Morck’s actions and interactions. How fantastic! The effects of his coffee drinking and stereotyping of other Scandis (this time the Jutlanders) never fails to amuse. The investigation in this book was a bit more drawn out which meant I got to enjoy more of Carl, Assad, Yrsa and Rose. Fabulous! I am also glad for the final chapter as I would have been very unsettled as I have a young son myself. However, my heart was racing a bit through these pages I must admit!

If I was an editor: What also made the novel a bit longer was the extra detail from the POV of the perpetrator and victims. It was an interesting (religious) crime but I probably would have preferred not to follow this strand so closely. Rather, to have it referred to in a more mysterious way where I had to fill in some of the gaps in the story myself would have been preferable. This part of the narrative was perhaps a bit overdrawn in my opinion.

Overall: A definite must for fans of the series! Everyone else, start at book 1…

Redemption: 4 Stars

Leave a Reply

