Perfect Scandi Crime: The Redeemer

The Redeemer: A Harry Hole Thriller (Oslo Sequence 4)The Redeemer by Jo Nesbo

Picking up where I left off with this series pre-pregnancy…
(Well, I actually read The Snowman out of sequence while pregnant, I just wasn’t thinking…)

A Harry Hole Novel: On a freezing December night Christmas shoppers have gathered to listen to a Salvation Army carol concert. A shot rings out and one of the singers is dead. There is no immediate suspect, no weapon and no motive. But when the assassin discovers he’s shot the wrong man, Harry finds his troubles have only just begun.

First Impressions: The series is just as good as I remember. Why did I take so long to get back into it?

Highlights: Who doesn’t adore Harry Hole? Confident but frail, his very subtle dark humour continues to entertain me. In this novel I loved the complex layers of the Salvation Army that shadow the investigation. I also like how Nesbo involves different nationalities and histories in his novels. It is very European: despite their differences, all countries share a past, present and future.

If I was an editor: I would beg Nesbo to keep the Harry Hole novels coming. I have The Leopard, the next one in the sequence, ready to go.

Overall: More Oslo perfection.

The Redeemer: 5 Stars

One thought on “Perfect Scandi Crime: The Redeemer

  1. Pingback: A Year in Books: 2015 | Orange Pekoe Reviews

Leave a Reply

