Six Degrees of Separation: April 2015

 

 

 

Six Degrees of Separation: Saturday 4th April 2015

I absolutely adored The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion. Don Tillman becomes involved in some research to do with genetics and autism…
(Read my review here)

… and in Ali Smith’s How to be both one of the main characters in interested in DNA and even cycles along a DNA path. Don Tillman rides a bike too!
(Read my review here)
I am fairly certain How to be both will be on my top books of the year list when December rolls around.

Last year This is the Water by Yannick Murphy made it on to my top books of the year list which really surprised me as I honestly couldn’t decide if I loved it or hated it and I’m still not even certain that I loved it!
(Read my review here)
This is the Water is about the world of teens’ competitive swimming…

As is Chris Tsioklas’ Barracuda. Dan Kelly wins a swimming scholarship to an elite private school…
(Read my review here)

… and in Laurinda by Alice Pung Lucy Lam wins an academic scholarship to an elite private school. Both of these novels highlight the wealth divide in society.
(Read my review here)

The Point by Marion Halligan also highlights the divisions in society. Her novel is about both the life of a gourmet restaurant (The Point) and homeless people in Canberra.

A Wrong Turn at the Office of Unmade Lists by Jane Rawson is a highly creative novel that shows the difference between the haves and the have nots in a future Melbourne that has been ravaged by climate change.
(Read my review here).

 

Find out more about the Six Degrees of Separation meme here.

#6Degrees Rules

One thought on “Six Degrees of Separation: April 2015

  1. Excellent links. How to be Both is my next book club list. And I got This is the Water from the library this week – I’d never heard of it but I was drawn by the cover and then I saw it had a rave blurb by Dave Eggers who I’m a fan of – so I’m interested after your comments!

Leave a Reply

