Six Degrees of Separation: January 2015

 

Six Degrees of Separation: Saturday 7th February 2015

This month we are starting with A M Holmes’ This Book Will Save Your Life. I can honestly say I have never heard about this book before! However, I have since discovered it was a Richard and Judy pick…

…in the same season that was The Testament of Gideon Mack by James Robinson. I read this for a book group and loved it.

Another memorable read from this book group was Their Eyes were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston. I am really glad I discovered this book! The characters in this book had such unusual names…

…and if we’re speaking of names, in James Ellroy’s Perfidia I felt there were too many names, particularly in the police squad. Who was that? Is that the same person? Why is that name familiar? Was he the one who- ? Perfidia is set in WW2 when Japanese citizens were put in internment camps.

The Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet  by Jamie Ford includes a lot of interesting detail about these internment camps.

My Beautiful Enemy by Cory Taylor is an Australian novel that is about a Japanese man in an Australian WW2 internment camp. I hope to read it this year.

The Lost Girls by Wendy James is also at the top of my TBR pile for the Australian Women Writers Challenge.

 

Find out more about the Six Degrees of Separation meme here.

#6Degrees Rules

3 thoughts on “Six Degrees of Separation: January 2015

  1. Nice chain. I struggled a bit to get started this month as I haven’t read This Book Will Save Your Life either. Sounds good though and the sort of thing I’d like. I actually haven’t read any of the books in your chain either but interested in Gideon Mack – always keen on a book-club-pleaser!

    Here’s my chain: https://booksaremyfavouriteandbest.wordpress.com/2015/02/07/six-degrees-of-separation-from-this-book-will-save-your-life-to-the-blazing-world/

  2. Well I think for the first time ever I haven’t read one of the books in your chain. I love the title ‘The Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet’ – I’ve come across that before (maybe here) and it piqued my interest.

Leave a Reply

