Six Degrees of Separation: January 2015

 

 

 

Six Degrees of Separation: Saturday 3rd January 2015

We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver is an uncomfortable story about the nature vs nurture debate.

When I read One Breath Away by Heather Gudenkauf I couldn’t put it down. I  loaned it to my mother in law who also read it in one sitting. It shares many plot similarities with We Need to Talk About Kevin. It is set during a severe snow event…

…and I always think of Eowyn Ivey’s The Snow Child when I think of a story set in a snowy environment! I was worried this novel may be too whimsical for me but I really enjoyed it.

M.L Stedman’s The Light Between Oceans is also a story about wanting to raise a child that doesn’t belong to you. It is mostly set on an island…

As is Carl Hiaason’s Bad Monkey, a very funny crime novel. It is very cleverly written with so many plot elements that tie together when you least expect it. (Read my review here).

Nnedi Okorafor’s Lagoon also impressed me with its plot intricacies – Oh, so they’re related! Oh, he was at at other location earlier! Aha! Very clever writing. Lagoon is an unusual fantasy dystopian novel… (read my review here).

…and Edan Lepucki’s California is another dystopian novel I recently read and enjoyed. (Read my review here).

 

Find out more about the Six Degrees of Separation meme here.

#6Degrees Rules

Leave a Reply

