Six Degrees of Separation #9

Six Degrees of Separation #9: Saturday 6th December 2014

The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan is a novel about Dorrigo Evans, a POW doctor on the Burma Railway in WW2. I was quite affected by this book, finding some of the detail unsettling.
(Read my review here)

I also found the ending of Her by Harriet Lane quite disturbing as it concerned an innocent little boy, made worse no doubt by the fact I have a young son myself…
(Read my review here)

Although I haven’t read the novel by Lionel Shriver, the film We Need to Talk About Kevin affected me much more than films usually do. It was really thought provoking with regards to the nature/nurture debate with children.

Amity and Sorrow are two sisters and the main characters in Peggy Riley’s novel. They are fleeing a small religious sect with their mother and certainly their characters have been shaped by their childhood.
(Read my review here)

Another interesting story with a religious main character is The Last Runaway by Tracy Chevalier. Honor Bright is a Quaker who emigrates from England to America (rural Ohio to be exact) in the 1850s and becomes an abolitionist.
(Read my review here)

The Promise is also set in a rural frontier town. Author Ann Weisgarber brings 1900 Galveston, Texas vividly to life. The crisis point in the novel is a calamitous storm, the worst in a generation, that threatens to destroy the island.
(Read my review here)

One non-fiction book I think sound really interesting is Five Days at Memorial by Sheri Fink which recounts the story of how the New Orlean’s Memorial Medical Centre coped in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina with staff deciding which patients would benefit most from the rationed medical care available.

 

Find out more about the Six Degrees of Separation meme here.

#6Degrees Rules

3 thoughts on “Six Degrees of Separation #9

  1. Kelly, I’m hiking in the heart of Hawaii’s volcano country where Internet connection comes and goes. I’m thrilled to see this and remember very well when you first posted the review for The Promise. You’re a good friend to authors, and I’m glad you’re back reading and reviewing in spite of a very busy schedule.

    Thank you!

  2. I haven’t read any of the books on your list this time Kelly. I had a go at We Need to Talk About Kevin but something about the style bothered me, and I was already feeling wary about the subject matter so it didn’t take much to put me off!

  3. Another great selection. I was especially interested in your review of Amity and Sorrow. One of my disappointments of the year, I partly read it on the basis I loved the cover which just goes to prove its not something you should ever do.

Leave a Reply

