Enjoyable: The Night Guest

The Night GuestThe Night Guest by Fiona McFarlane

I have had this novel on my TBR pile for a while but as it sounds a little like Elizabeth is Missing (which I really enjoyed) I keep passing it over. Aus Reading Month was the motivation I needed to finally pick it up!

Ruth lives alone on the edge of a coastal town in what was meant to be retirement bliss but her husband has died and her sons live far away. One day Frida, a government carer, arrives to help care for Ruth. Is this exotic woman with the many hair styles linked to Ruth’s Fijian childhood? Has Frida been sent to help Ruth get rid of the dangerous tiger she hears prowling through her lounge at night?

First Impressions: From the first page I could tell I would enjoy this story. I really liked all the references to to Ruth’s Fijian childhood.

Highlights: I thought Ruth’s childhood of living in Fiji with her missionary doctor parents was interesting and would have loved to read more about this.

If I was an editor: I would want more about the mystery that is Frida.

Overall: I was wrong to spend the last few months comparing this novel to Elizabeth is Missing. They are very different stories. I did really enjoy The Night Guest but unfortunately it is just a novel I just don’t have too much to say about…

The Night Guest: 4 stars

2 thoughts on “Enjoyable: The Night Guest

  1. Some books are like that 🙂
    I started this book over lunch one day & realised the topic was a bit too close to home. But the bit I read was beautifully written.

    Thanks for joining in AusReading Month

  2. Pingback: Six Degrees of Separation: May 2015 | Orange Pekoe Reviews

Leave a Reply

