Six Degrees of Separation #8

 

Six Degrees of Separation #8: Saturday 1st November 2014

Unfortunately, I found Karen Joy Fowler’s We are all Completely Beside Ourselves difficult to enjoy.
(Read my review here)

Another novel that disappointed me this year was The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri. I have loved her other novel and short story collections but this just didn’t do it for me.
(Read my review here)

To flip things around, one novel I was unsure about but ended up loving was The Undertaking by Audrey Magee. This novel ends with a glimmer of hope that is still a little depressing…
(Read my review here)

Which is similar to The Red Queen by Honey Brown. What a fantastic dystopian novel for adults!
(Read my review here)

Lexicon by Max Barry sounds like it could be another adult dystopian novel and is on my TBR pile. It is about language, a missing word…

Eunoia by Christian Bok is a crazy sounding book in which each chapter only contains one vowel!

If we are focusing on language, I was really surprised with how much I enjoyed Rosco’s section in Annabel Smith’s The Ark – teen slang meets twitter to the power of the year 2041. Wow!
(Read my review here)

(Interestingly I have ended strongly with language and communication – clearly there’s a circular link to Fowler this month!)

 

 

Find out more about the Six Degrees of Separation meme here.

#6Degrees Rules

7 thoughts on “Six Degrees of Separation #8

  1. I have just finished The Ark, and I enjoyed it too. From your list (and reading your review), I’d now like to read Red Queen. Have you read The Sky So Heavy by Claire Zorn? It’s YA fiction, and set in the Blue Mountains and Sydney during a nuclear winter. Both my teenage son and I really enjoyed that one (and I wrote about it one of my very first blogs).

  2. I have The Lowlands on my TBR pile, but I keep hearing disappointing comments…and it keeps getting pushed down further in the pile.

  3. What a great list. Eunoia sounds really interesting. Lexicon is FABULOUS. It was glued to my hands. So pleased to hear what you said about The Ark too.

Leave a Reply

