Six Degrees of Separation #7

Six Degrees of Separation #7: Saturday 4th October 2014

1984 by George Orwell is a futuristic novel set in the age of Big Brother and mass surveillance.

D.B.C. Pierre’s Vernon God Little also has video surveillance but in this case the cameras are in a prison with the inmates being contestants on a Big Brother type show.

Meursault, the main character in Albert Camus’ The Outsider, also spends time in jail. I read this short novel in my final year at school while doing a unit on existential drama. I must confess it didn’t really move me. Perhaps I missed something…

In comparison, one novel in translation that I loved was The Hundred Year Old Man by Jonas Jonasson.There are lots of translated works I have enjoyed but this is always the first one to come to mind.

A History of Tractors in Ukrainian by Marina Lewycka is another funny novel with an entertaining elderly man as a character. I loved this book when I read it but I am sure that had I lived in London when it was released I would have got even more out of it.

Ian McEwan is an author I just couldn’t really get into until I moved to London. I have now read a few of his novels including his most recent one, The Children’s Act in which the main character has to navigate many ethical issues in her job.
(Read my review here)

In Graeme Simsion’s The Rosie Project Don Tillman becomes involved in some rather dubious ethical practices all in the name of love. However the tone of this novel is definitely a lot more lighthearted!

(Read my review here)

 

 

Find out more about the Six Degrees of Separation meme here.

#6Degrees Rules

9 thoughts on “Six Degrees of Separation #7

  1. Thanks for stopping by Pen and Paper.

    A great selection, I love reading these chains, of seeing how different readers get from A to B so to speak. One of only a handful of people I know who didn’t enjoy The Hundred Year Old Man, I much preferred The Little Old Woman Who Broke All The Rules.

  2. I think it’s hilarious that you ended up at The Rosie Project – it would be hard to find 2 books more different in tone! Great connection with Vernon God Little too. That book was a bit ahead of its time, I think.

Leave a Reply

