Hilarious: The Rosie Project

The Rosie ProjectThe Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

I usually avoid books that receive a lot of hype as too often I find myself disappointed, rarely finding said novels ‘hilarious and fun’. However, I am sometimes worn down by the volume of popular reviews and in this instance it was time to give The Rosie Project a go.

Don Tillman, a 39 year old geneticist, has never had a second date. In fact, he’s had very few first dates. Don thinks it’s time to find a wife so he devises a survey based on scientific compatibility to find a perfect match. Enter Rosie, the most incompatible match Don could imagine…

First Impressions: Don’s character is fantastic. Simsion has created a convincing and commanding voice for Don. By the end of the first page I was picturing a friend of a friend in my mind when reading Don…

Highlights: I was delighted to see that Don’s voice and character remained consistent and believable throughout the novel. I loved all the throw away lines in the story, such as one in particular at the end of the ‘dancing chapter’ which really had me laughing but I don’t want to give it away! Don’s inability to recognise social cues would mean he often added unnecessary and sometimes offensive detail in explanations such as his neighbour’s obesity contributing to her bad knee.The ‘dancing chapter’ I mentioned above was great, second only in hilarity to the ‘cocktail chapter’. I haven’t been this entertained by a book for a while.

If I was an editor: I would be thrilled to find this book on my desk! It is a great romantic story that is highly believable. When it came to helping Rosie unravel a mystery, some of Don’s actions were dubious, but he knew this and it wasn’t just all swept aside in order to keep the romance chugging along. I was glad to see this as in my opinion unrealistic plot elements are often a downfall of romances.

Overall: Read it!

The Rosie Project: 5 stars

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 thoughts on “Hilarious: The Rosie Project

  1. I read it before the hype was at fever-pitch and then recommended it to everyone (with the disclaimer ‘It’s fun! Not hardcore literature” And I think it succeeds for that very reason – it’s not trying to be something that it’s not. Will you be reading the sequel (The Rosie Effect) that’s out soon?

  2. Pingback: Six Degrees of Separation #7 | Orange Pekoe Reviews

  3. Pingback: Six Degrees of Separation: April 2015 | Orange Pekoe Reviews

Leave a Reply

