Glorious Romp: The Uninvited Guests

The Uninvited GuestsThe Uninvited Guests by Sadie Jones

I have read a lot of good books recently but none have had the magic that makes a genuine 5 star read. Perhaps I was becoming too hard and cynical with my book reviews? I was unsure if The Uninvited Guests could break this deadlock as I wasn’t a fan of The Outcast; I found it too severe. I heard Sadie Jones speak at a reader’s day last year and she spoke about how this novel is a departure from her regular work. The story sounded fun so I decided to buy a signed copy and this month I finally got around to reading it.

The evening before Emerald Torrington’s 20th birthday, family and friends and gathered at Sterne, the grand but crumbling family home. News reaches them that there has been a terrible train accident on a local line and they are required to provide shelter for some of the victims. As a storm begins to rage the Torrington family begin to wonder what malevolence the stranded travellers have brought into their home.

First Impressions: A book shouldn’t be judged by its cover but this is a beautiful cover!

Highlights: Sadie Jones is an incredibly talented writer. Each sentence is plumped with detail vital to the story and not one word is wasted. Her turn of phrase is exquisite. The story itself moves along at a cracking pace and the characterisation is wonderful. It is an incredibly enjoyable read. The youngest sister’s storyline wouldn’t usually interest me but in Jones’s hands it is fantastic and adds even more to the story.

If I was an editor: I really couldn’t think of any way to improve this story. Of course I would have loved it to be longer but it is a perfectly formed story at its current length.

Overall: Magnificent. I would have read it in one sitting had I been able.

The Uninvited Guests: 5 Stars

3 thoughts on “Glorious Romp: The Uninvited Guests

  1. Pingback: A Year in Books | Orange Pekoe Reviews

Leave a Reply

