Six Degrees of Separation #4

Six Degrees of Separation #4: Saturday 5th July 2014

 

A terrorist attack is the impetus for most of the action in The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt.

The Submission by Amy Waldman is a novel about a board selecting a memorial for the 9/11 site. Sounds dry but it is a fascinating character study.

I am Pilgrim by Terry Hayes is a fast paced thriller about a planned biological terrorist attack on the USA. One of the characters is a doctor…
(Read my review here).

Band Aid for a  Broken Leg is the true story of Damien Brown, an Australian doctor who worked for MSF in Africa. I heard about the book when listening to a story on Radio National’s The Body Sphere.
(Listen to the audio here).

Another book I purchased after listening to an interview on Radio National was Bonkers by Jennifer Saunders. A hilarious Conversation with Richard Fidler!
(Listen to the audio here).

Earlier this year I read Marriage Material by Sathnam Sanghera. For the first time in a while I found myself having a good chuckle out loud. It’s worth reading the book just to meet the character Jay.
(Read my review here).

Although it seemed to have quite mixed reviews, I can’t deny having a good giggle when reading Solar by Ian McEwan. Just like in Marriage Material, there I was having an almighty chortle and suddenly the story took a horrifyingly abrupt turn. In both novels I felt guilty for laughing just a few paragraphs earlier.

Find out more about the Six Degrees of Separation meme here.

#6Degrees Rules

3 thoughts on “Six Degrees of Separation #4

  1. These are great links. Another blogger also chose The Submission, which i’m yet to read. I never imagined Solar to be funny – I don’t think of McEwan is being humorous at all! Don’t forget to post your link on my blog so that the other bloggers taking part can find their way to your post. Thanks again for playing!

Leave a Reply

