Inconsequential Chatter: Gossip

Product DetailsGossip by Beth Gutcheon

I had high hopes for this book. Loviah French owns a boutique in Manhattan. Her two best friends from a posh boarding school in the 1960s, Dinah and Avis, have a caustic relationship. I assumed this would cue engaging scandal and shocking revelations. Unfortunately, while the story is polished and believable it is rather shallow and lacking in warmth.

Instead of being a rollicking read, it was more a measured biography of their lives and there was no sense it was building up to a scandalous climax. I didn’t particularly warm to any of the characters and it becomes difficult when you aren’t cheering for someone. After a while I couldn’t really tell the difference between the three characters as they all seemed to have the same reserved character traits.

I know some people will just adore Gossip and I wonder if I would have enjoyed it more if I was sitting on a beach in summer. Gossip has all the hallmarks of a glossy magazine – lots of detail about the fashion and art industries and lots of name dropping. I’m rarely interested in catching up on the superficial celebrity gossip found in glossy magazines which is why I suspect I couldn’t really get into this novel.

One book down on a previous blog’s to read list!

Gossip: left unfinished but I’m glad I gave it a try.

 

Leave a Reply

